Author Email – Sydney Talbot

Dear Mr.Crocker,

 

My name is Sydney and I am a sophomore at Monte Vista High School in Danville, CA. I am writing to you because I am researching immigration for my English class. I have come across your article on Syrian Refugees and would like to know more on this topic.

 

During my first few weeks of school, I have learned that Syrian Refugees are not fully accepted in America. There is a definite force of opposition on this topic, mostly by Americans voting for Mr. Donald Trump. Their opposing thought towards them is fuelled by their hatred of President Obama and his new laws that allow Syrian refugees to live in America.

 

I have some questions regarding this topic, and I was hoping you could answer some of them. When I read your piece “The Case for Accepting Syrian Refugees” I understood you had a positive view on allowing Syrians refuge in the U.S. Do you have any experience with this topic that altered your opinion? In your third paragraph you mentioned you had served as an ambassador to Iraq. What did you witness that made you want to fight for Syrians? Was it negatively or positively influencing your actions?

 

Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to read my email. I am looking forward to hearing back from you.

 

Sincerely,

Sydney Talbot
Contact: wsj.ltrs@wsj.com

Leave a Reply

